My KUTX: Ley Line & Trouble In The Streets Play ‘No More Silence’

Artwork by Julia Zipporah

Ley Line & Trouble In The Streets Play 'No More Silence'

My KUTX // July 25, 2020

In June, after watching protests against police brutality unfold around the country, the members of Austin’s Ley Line started organizing their fellow musicians. “We really wanted to find a way to bring the diverse Austin music community together,” says Ley Line’s Lydia Froncek, “so we can use our platforms to amplify a message of unity, to amplify the voices of black, indigenous, and people of color, and to contribute to the movement for social justice here in Austin.” No More Silence was born, a pair of compilations featuring thirty-two Austin artists. All proceeds from the releases benefit the Austin Justice Coalition, a grassroots, activist-led organization addressing criminal, economic, and social justice at the local level.

This week on My KUTX, the members of Ley Line team up with fellow No More Silence community member Nnedi Nebula of Trouble In The Streets. Together, they share an hour of music from the compilations, ranging from songs of grief to heart-pumping anthems. Hear this collective My KUTX on Saturday, July 25 at 6 p.m. or anytime at the top of the page.

–Art Levy // producer, My KUTX


1. Ray Prim – “When It Don’t Feel Right”

2. Daniel Fears – “No Substitutions”

3. Ley Line – “Ciranda”

4. Tje Austin – “I Can’t Breathe”

5. Gina Chavez – “La Que Manda”

6. Superfónicos – “El Adiós”

7. Torre Blake – “Ain’t Thinkin'”

8. Cilantro Boombox – “On The Move”

9. Kalu & The Electric Joint – “Slipping Away”

10. Nané – “Pink Jag”

11. Trouble In The Streets – “Mad Science”

12. Jeff Hortillosa – “Millionaire”

13. Motenko – “On Your Level”

14. Allysa Grace – “People” (acoustic version)


Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today