My KUTX: Matt Shook of JuiceLand

Photo by Martin do Nasicmento/KUTX

Matt Shook started JuiceLand in 2011 and now oversees 22 Texas locations and one store in Brooklyn. Besides selling freshly-made juices and smoothies, JuiceLand has also become a hub for Austin’s forward-thinking electronic beat scene, co-hosting events and launching Exploded Records at its Hyde Park location. Shook also used to DJ around town, and this week on My KUTX, he’s returning to his roots. His guest DJ set takes a lot of disparate ingredients–experimental dance music, jazz/rap hybrids, country-soul–and blends them into a delicious hour-long mix. Hear Matt Shook’s My KUTX on Saturday, August 26 6-7 p.m. or listen anytime at the bottom of the page.

–Art Levy // producer, My KUTX


1. Kings Of Convenience – “Gold For The Price Of Silver” (Collaboration with Erot)

2. Aphex Twin – “Ageispolis”

3. Flying Lotus – “Never Catch Me” (ft. Kendrick Lamar)

4. Leon Russell – “Stranger In A Strange Land”

5. Tame Impala – “Yes I’m Changing”

6. The Matthew Herbert Big Band – “Everything’s Changed”

7. Santigold – “Unstoppable”

8. Quasimoto – “Astro Travellin”

9. Dirty Projectors – “I Will Truck”

10. Sade – “Kiss Of Life”

11. Mos Def – “UMI Says”

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today