My KUTX: Matthew Logan Vasquez

Matthew Logan Vasquez (+ Thor) from 2017. Gabriel C. Pérez/KUTX

Matthew Logan Vasquez (from 2015)

My KUTX // July 10, 2021

Matthew Logan Vasquez helped form the rootsy indie rockers Delta Spirit in Long Beach, California in 2005. A few years ago, Vasquez returned to his former hometown of Austin and plunged deep into the scene here, releasing a handful of great solo albums and collaborating with Austin’s David Ramirez, Kelsey Wilson, Adrian Quesada, and more in Glorietta.

On Saturday, July 10, Vasquez celebrates his birthday with a big show at Hotel Vegas, featuring Austin fixtures Israel Nash, Kelsey Wilson (Wild Child, Sir Woman), Magic Rockers Of Texas, Kam Franklin (The Suffers), and more. This week on My KUTX, we’re rebroadcasting his 2015 guest DJ set, which is something of a love letter to his Austin youth: headbanging to Nirvana and Metallica, jamming Sublime while rollerblading across South Austin, shoutouts to Janis Joplin and Stevie Ray Vaughan, and more. Hear Matthew Logan Vasquez’s My KUTX on Saturday, July 10 at 6 p.m. or listen anytime in the player above.

–Art Levy // My KUTX


[intro music: Matthew Logan Vasquez – “Same”]

1. Nirvana – “School”

2. Metallica – “For Whom The Bell Tolls”

3. Sublime – “Badfish”

4. Neil Young – “Harvest Moon”

5. Janis Joplin & Big Brother & The Holding Company – “Summertime”

6. Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble – “Life By The Drop”

7. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – “Into My Arms”

8. Tom Waits – “Just The Right Bullets”

9. Bob Dylan – “To Ramona”

10. Led Zeppelin – “Dancing Days”

11. Bonnie Raitt – “Not Cause I Wanted To”

12. Can – “Little Star Of Bethlehem”

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today