My KUTX: Shakey Graves

Photo by Erika Goldring

If there was any doubt before, Shakey Graves became a household name in 2014. Alejandro Rose-Garcia expanded his sound for his stellar second album, And The War Came, earning a spot on many critics’ best-of lists. He made his national television debut (with a Letterman performance on the way). And he toured across the country, bringing his stellar live show to more and more fans.

Shakey Graves returns to Austin on January 31 to help celebrate KUTX’s second birthday, performing alongside tUnE-yArDs and Jenny Lewis. This week on My KUTX, we’re dialing it back to Shakey’s first guest DJ set, originally recorded in 2013 as a mixtape from an up-and-coming artist. Join us Saturday at 6pm or anytime in the player below.

Shakey Graves set list:
1. Crooked Cowboy and the Freshwater Indians: “Bed Bugs”

2. Tim Fite: “Thought I Was A Gun”

3. Selda: “Yaylalar”

4. Elliott Smith: “Memory Lane”

5. The Seeds: “I Can’t Seem To Make You Mine”

6. Roger Miller: “Reincarnation”

7. Tom Waits: “Going Out West”

8. Tommy Dorsey and His Orchestra: “On The Sunny Side Of The Street”

9. Mountain Man: “Animal Tracks”

10. Talking Heads: “I Want To Live”

11. The Country Gentlemen: “The Little Sparrow”

12. Abner Jay: “I’m So Depressed”

13. Townes Van Zandt: “Only Him Or Me”

14. The Ventures: “The Creeper”

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today

Leave a Reply