Soundfounder: John Frusciante Talks His Wild New Electronic Album

Photo by Aura T-09


Episode #58 // November 1, 2020

Every Saturday night, 1-2 a.m., Soundfounder plays electronic and beat music from Austin and around the world, focusing on new releases and old classics. This week’s show features a preview of Exploded Drawing’s 10th anniversary celebration on November 6, highlighting homegrown talent from the Austin and Texas electronic community.

Plus, Soundfounder talks with John Frusciante about his wild new album Maya. You might know Frusciante’s guitar work with the Red Hot Chili Peppers, but he’s also an avowed electronic music fan and creator. He talks about the influence of jungle and drum ‘n’ bass, the creativity of musical limitations, and how allowing himself to make “bad” music helped him learn new techniques.


1. Kinder – “Setting”

2. Cygnus – “Konami Codes”

3. Multi-Tracker – “Machine Learning”

4. Corduroi – “Acid Controller”

5. Interview with John Frusciante

-“Brand E”

-“Blind Aim”

-“Pleasure Explanation”

-“Reach Out”



6. Wagon Christ – “Special Designer Song”

7. Machinedrum – “Kane Train” (feat. Freddie Gibbs)

8. Photay – “Warmth In The Coldest Acre”

9. The Deli & Lumes – “Mauve”


Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today