The Invisible: “Save You”

It’s hard not to be noticed when you’re grooving to the Invisible. The London trio, fronted by guitarist/vocalist Dave Okumu and backed by Tom Herbert (bass and synthesizer) and Leo Taylor (drums) lathers up the sonic sunscreen and puts out pool-ready tunes with steady grooves–what they refer to as “experimental genre-spanning spacepop.” Since their 2009 debut album was nominated for the Mercury Prize in the UK, the Invisible have been signed to Ninja Tune (notable for Bonobo, Odesza, and Run The Jewels) and have shared stages with like-minded acts like Hot Chip.

Last Friday the Invisible released its third studio album, Patience, forty minutes of laid-back, head-bobbing electro-pop powered by soothing synths and layered lo-fi drum samples. “Save You” delivers one of the more hard-hitting performances on Patience through a blend of sampled and acoustic percussion instruments, and in typical spacepop fashion, there’s plenty of reverb.

Patience is out now via Ninja Tune.

–Jack Anderson

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today