My KUTX: Indoor Creature

Indoor Creature is the KUTX Artist of the Month for June 2021.

Indoor Creature

My KUTX // June 12, 2021

Austin’s Indoor Creature started out as a recording partnership between Caleb Fleischer, who handles vocals, keyboards, and saxophone, and drummer Travis Kitchen. For the band’s third album, the pair opted to go for a big, in-the-moment sound that better reflected the band’s live shows. Living In Darkness shows off Indoor Creature’s dynamic, jazz-influenced pop, and the band celebrates its release at the Ballroom (formerly Spiderhouse Ballroom) on Friday, June 18. At the show, Indoor Creature will be augmented by a full horn section and choir.

This week on My KUTX, Caleb and Travis take the controls as our guest DJs, spinning an hour of songs that fed into the creation of this up-and-coming Austin band. Hear Indoor Creature’s My KUTX on Saturday, June 12 at 6 p.m. or listen anytime in the player above.

–Art Levy // producer, My KUTX

[intro music: Indoor Creature – “American Dream”

1. Toro y Moi – “Go With You”

2. Stereolab – “Cybele’s Reverie”

3. The Olivia Tremor Control – “Hideaway”

4. Steely Dan – “Deacon Blues”

5. Dirty Projectors & Björk – “When The World Comes To An End”

6. Air – “African Velvet”

7. El Michels Affair – “Unathi” (feat. Piya Malik)

8. The Band – “Look Out Cleveland”

9. The Beach Boys – “Darlin'”

10. Curtis Mayfield – “The Makings Of You”

11. Harry Nilsson – “Sleep Late, My Lady Friend”

12. Broadcast – “Before We Begin”

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today