My KUTX: Wild Child

Indie-folk band Wild Child hail from Austin, and they have certainly managed to stand out in a town saturated with musicians. The band began as an acoustic duo consisting Kelsey Wilson and Alexander Beggins, and now includes drummer Carey McGraw, cellist Sadie Wolfe, keyboardist Evan Magers, and multi-instrumentalist Matthew Mares.  Their debut album Pillow Talk was released in 2011, and they were named Best Indie and Best Folk band at the 2013 Austin Music Awards. Wild Child released their Ben Kweller-produced album, The Runaround in October.

Alexander and Kelsey came in to take over the station for an hour and we’re so happy they did. Click on the player below to hear some of  Wild Child’s favorite tunes. 


Alexander & Kelsey’s List: 

  1. The Notorious B.I.G. – Mo Money Mo Problems

  2. The Rapture – Echoes

  3. Deathcab For Cutie – A Lack of Color

  4. House of Pain – Jump Around

  5. Jay Z – Hard Knock Life

  6. The Beatles – Across The Universe

  7. Wild Child – Crazy Bird

  8. Possessed By Paul James – There Will Be Nights When I’m Lonely

  9. Michael Kiwanuka – I’ll Get Along

  10. Aretha Franklin – Day Dreaming

  11. The Dillards – The Whole World Round

  12. Nina Simone – I wish i knew how it would feel to be free

  13. Curtis Mayfield – Move On Up

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today

Leave a Reply