Soundfounder: 01.19.22

Michael Minasi/KUTX


January 19, 2022

Every Wednesday night, 8-9 p.m., Soundfounder plays electronic and beat music from Austin and around the world, focusing on new releases and old classics. Inspired by the stunning collaboration between electronic producer Floating Points and jazz legend Pharoah Sanders, Soundfounder devotes the entire show this week to electronic music’s connection with jazz. From Madlib raiding Blue Note’s discography for jazz samples to Kendrick Lamar, Flying Lotus, and Thundercat making jazz fusion cool for a new generation, Soundfounder traces the history and possibility of the electronic/jazz connection.


  1. Mr. Scruff – “Music Takes Me Up” (feat. Alice Russell)
  2. Floating Points & Pharoah Sanders – “Movement 6” (feat. London Symphony Orchestra)
  3. Madlib – “Stepping Into Tomorrow”
  4. Kieran Hebden & Steve Reid – “People Be Happy”
  5. Flying Lotus – “Never Catch Me” (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
  6. The Deli – “51”
  7. Roni Size & Reprazent – “New Forms” (feat. Bahamadia)
  8. Amon Tobin – “Get Your Snack On”
  9. Thundercat – “For Love (I Come Your Friend)”
  10. DJ Shadow – “What Does Your Soul Look Like, Pt. 3”
  11. Botany – “Raw Light Overture”
  12. Squarepusher – “Beep Street”

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today