My KUTX: Bill Callahan

Photo by Jorge Sanhueza-Lyon/KUTX.

Bill Callahan

My KUTX // September 12, 2020

Last week, Austin’s Bill Callahan released Gold Record, hot on the heels of his 2019 double album Shepherd In A Sheepskin Vest. Sonically, it feels like a spiritual cousin to Shepherd, favoring mostly acoustic arrangements and a band that can follow Callahan’s wandering voice. Gold Record keeps you on your toes. It features a protest song against bad protest songs, Callahan covering himself (the Smog classic “Let’s Move To The Country”), and the word “plenipotentiary” in a song about a wedding. He’s following his own path, and it’s a joy to see where he leads you.

This week on My KUTX, Callahan takes the guest DJ reins. His set features classic country, turn-of-the-century Greek folk, and more. Hear Bill Callahan’s My KUTX on Saturday, September 12 at 6 p.m., or listen anytime at the top of the page.

–Art Levy // producer, My KUTX


[intro song: Bill Callahan – “Another Song”]

1. DJ Clent – “Saturday Luv”

2. Blind Blake – “Yes! Yes! Yes!”

3. Shelagh McDonald – “Mirage”

4. Gary Stewart – “Cactus And A Rose”

5. A. Kostis – “Stin Ipoga (In The Basement)”

6. Rosalía – “Catalina”

7. Will Beeley – “Telling Stories”

8. June Tabor – “The Old Man’s Song”

9. Jerry Jeff Walker – “I Love You”

10. Jake Xerxes Fussell – “The Rainbow Willow”

11. Johnny Paycheck – “The Outlaw’s Prayer”

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today