My KUTX: Butcher Bear

Photo by Gabriel Cristóver Pérez/KUTX

Butcher Bear is many things: the booker for the ever-eclectic North Door, founder of Insect Records, co-creator of Austin electronic showcase Exploded Drawing, and, of course, a bear-suited electronic musician himself who was born and raised among Austin’s DIY punk scene. He’ll play Exploded Drawing’s event at Fusebox Festival on Saturday, April 15 at Saengerrunde Hall. The show features a who’s-who among Austin and L.A. beatmakers, including Exploded co-founder Soundfounder and a pair of performers from Flying Lotus’ influential Brainfeeder roster.

Butcher Bear’s guest DJ set pulls from all these influences and more, connecting a thread between his love of experimental electronic sounds and the enduring impact of Austin punk institutions like the Big Boys. Tune into My KUTX on Saturday, April 8 at 6 p.m. or listen anytime at the bottom of the page.

–Art Levy // producer, My KUTX


[intro music: Butcher Bear – “That’s Not Oz Behind the Curtain, It’s a 303 (iNterlude)”]

1. Lord High Fixers – “Miss Jean Louise Stand Up, Your Father Is Passing”

2. Reaganometry – “Slow Drip”

3. Ras G – “Mi Unk’s”

4. J1 aka The Deer – “Mellow Yellow” (ft. Jimetta Rose)

5. Polvo – “Feather Of Forgiveness”

6. Butcher Bear – “Landlocked In Small Talk” (ft. Marc Bianchi)

7. Glass Eye – “Break The Black Line”

8. Cee Lo Green – “All Alone Now”

9. Big Boys – “Manipulation”

10. Har Mar Superstar – “How Did I Get Through The Day?”

11. Esgar – “Starscream”

12. Kinder – “Stroll:Lights”

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today

Leave a Reply