My KUTX: Eleanor Friedberger

Photo by Julia Reihs/KUTX

The Fiery Furnaces come by their name honestly. The Chicago duo’s music is a raging inferno of sound, reveling in extremes that are both fascinating and mystifying: showtunes and psychedelic rock, folk and electronic, pop and the avant-garde. When the band announced a hiatus in 2011, it was hard to know what to expect from singer Eleanor Friedberger’s solo career given her past work. That same uncertainty has led her to follow her intuition towards new juxtapositions. Rebound, Friedberger’s fourth album, sparkles with synthesizers and an electronic sheen, sounding both futuristic and retro. She sings about love and dreams and adventure, but the messiness of the present keeps interrupting.

This week on My KUTX, Friedberger is our guest DJ, playing some influences, recent discoveries, and reliving her days as a University of Texas student seeing the Jesus Lizard and Lucinda Williams (not on the same bill, sadly). Hear My KUTX on Saturday, September 29 at 6 p.m. or listen anytime at the bottom of the page.

–Art Levy // producer, My KUTX


[intro music: Eleanor Friedberger – “Everything”]

1. Cate Le Bon – “Love Is Not Love”

2. The Top – “Kann Sein”

3. Stereolab – “Infinity Girl”

4. The Jesus Lizard – “Fly On The Wall”

5. Tortoise & Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy – “Daniel”

6. Anna Domino – “Review”

7. Maki Awakawa – “Konna Fu Ni Sugite Iku No Nara”

8. Nils Lofgren – “The Sun Hasn’t Set On This Boy Yet”

9. Sparks – “Sherlock Holmes”

10. Alan Vega – “Video Babe”

11. Lucinda Williams – “Drunken Angel”

12. Yoko Ono – “Run, Run, Run”

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today