My KUTX: Garrett T. Capps

Alyssa Olvera/KUTX

Garrett T. Capps

My KUTX // March 4, 2023

Like Willie, Waylon, and Kacey Musgraves, Garrett T. Capps and his band NASA Country come from a long line of Texans adding their own spin to country tradition. On last year’s People Are Beautiful–one of my favorite records of the year–the San Antonio native and his band mix twang with synthesizers and a krautrock pulse, but what really sets it apart is Capps’s sensibility. He sings about politics, paranoia, and the darkness of our times, but it’s all lightened because he’s a funny and positive dude. If you’re going to kick out the jams on cosmic country, it helps if you’re as cosmically, wonderfully weird as Capps.

This week on My KUTX, we’re excited to hand over the guest DJ keys to Capps ahead of his appearance at SXSW. His hour-long mix features selections from him and his bandmates, ranging from Japanese psych-rockers and San Antonio punks to soul and country classics. Hear Garrett T. Capps’ My KUTX on Saturday, March 4 at 6 p.m. or listen anytime at the top of the page.


[intro music: Garrett T. Capps & NASA Country – “People Are Beautiful”]

  1. Minami Deutsch – “Still Foggy”
  2. Sunjammer – “Fried Sunshine”
  3. Frederick Knight – “I’ve Been Lonely For So Long”
  4. Buttercup – “Henry B. Gonzalez”
  5. Skeeter Davis – “The End Of The World”
  6. The Sons Of Hercules – “No, No, No”
  7. Bür Hoff Bau – “Hummelsong”
  8. Vincent Valdez & Justin Boyd – “A Dramatic Sort Of Drifting
  9. Poi Dog Pondering – “Living With The Dreaming”
  10. Garrett T. Capps & NASA Country – “Within It All”

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today