My KUTX: The Greyhounds

The Greyhounds are an Austin band with a sound that’s more New Orleans or Memphis. Anthony Farrell and Andrew Trube first bonded over a mutual love of the Meters, and over the past decade they’ve mixed together soul, funk, and R&B as the Greyhounds. Their new album, Change of Pace, is out April 1, and this week on My KUTX, Farrell and Trube are the guest DJs, spinning an hour of the songs that have inspired them over the years. Listen in the player at the bottom of the page.

–Art Levy

The Greyhounds’ playlist:

[intro music: The Greyhounds – “What’s On Your Mind”]

1. B.B. King – “Hummingbird”

2. The Staple Singers – “We’ll Get Over”

3. The Meters – “Yeah, You’re Right”

4. Bobby “Blue” Bland – “Cry, Cry, Cry”

5. Medeski Martin & Wood – “Hey-Hee-Hi-Ho”

6. Los Lobos – “Revolution”

7. Ruthie Foster – “Cuz I’m Here”

8. JJ Grey & Mofro – “Standing On The Edge”

9. Booker T & The MGs – “Hip Hug Her”

10. T Bird & The Breaks – “Two Tone Cadillac”

11. Parliament – “Funky Woman”

12. Gary Wilson – “Electric Endicott”

13. Bobby Womack – “Woman’s Gotta Have It”

[outro music: The Greyhounds – “Lone Rider”]

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today

Leave a Reply