Dead Meadow 5.21.19

photo by Gabriel C. Pérez

The psychedelic rock band Dead Meadow returned to their almost twenty year musical career last year with a new album, The Nothing They Need. Their first release since 2013’s Warble Womb, their newest album sees them returning to their signature hard riffs, layered guitars, and melodic vocals by lead singer Jason Simon. This release also came about as an opportunity to work with collaborators that had contributed to their albums across their career since they got their start in Washington D.C. in 1998.

The eight song album features everyone whose ever gotten the chance to play on a Dead Meadow song but maintains the three core members Simon, bassist Steve Kille, and drummer Mark Laughlin. Dead Meadow stopped into Studio 1A before their show with Saint Pé and Sailor Poon at Barracuda, chilled out as ever. They talk about the process of recording a new album with their self-run record label Xemu Records, and what it’s like to get everyone back in the studio to play together again after so many years.

Claire Hardwick, KUTX Intern

Dead Meadow

Full Session with Interview: \"Keep Your Head\" & \"The Light\"

Dead Meadow

Bonus Track- \"Unsettled Dust\"


Host: Laurie Gallardo

Producer: Deidre Gott

Audio Engineer: Cliff Hargrove, Chris Preston

Camera: Gabriel C. Pérez

Edit: Gabriel C. Pérez

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today