My KUTX: Carrie Rodriguez

Austin’s Carrie Rodriguez has worked with Lucinda Williams, Los Lobos, Chip Taylor, and more, but this week on My KUTX, she’s got the controls all to herself. Rodriguez’s new album, Lola, is out February 19, and it features a blend of Mexican and Texan sounds–she calls it “culturally blended music for a culturally blended world.” She’ll stop by Studio 1A for a live performance on Tuesday, February 9 at 1 p.m., and then she’s at the Texas Union Theatre on Saturday, February 13.

This My KUTX is a re-broadcast of a guest DJ set Rodriguez taped with us a few years ago, and it’s a great, eclectic mix of songs. Listen in the player at the bottom of the page.

–Art Levy

Carrie Rodriguez’s playlist:

1. Mavis Staples – “Creep Along Moses”

2. Bill Frisell with Dave Holland and Elvin Jones – “Blues Dream”

3. Bob Dylan – “Everything Is Broken”

4. The Be Good Tanyas – “Waiting Around To Die”

5. Lucinda Williams – “Drunken Angel”

6. Lyle Lovett -“Ballad Of The Snow Leopard And The Tanqueray Cowboy”

7. Eva Garza – “Frio En El Alma”

8. Los Lobos – “Revolution”

9. Caetano Veloso – “Cucurrucucu Paloma”

10. Lila Downs – “La Cumbia Del Mole”

11. Calexico – “Slowness”

12. Emmylou Harris- “All My Tears”

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today

Leave a Reply