My KUTX: David Ramirez Premieres His New Album

For his fourth album, Austin’s David Ramirez went back to his roots, specifically the sounds he first heard on a cassette player as a kid. We’re Not Going Anywhere is, in some ways, Ramirez’s ’80s pop record, glowing with synths and big arrangements. But he does it in his own way, keeping the focus squarely on the characters and narratives that give the record its beating heart.

This week on My KUTX, Ramirez premieres the album in its entirety alongside a few of its influences. He provides a track-by-track commentary, talking about the memories, politics, and feelings that went into making each song. Listen to My KUTX 6-7 p.m. on Saturday, September 9 or anytime at the bottom of the page. Also, you can catch an album release party on Saturday at Hard Luck Lounge.

We’re Not Going Anywhere is out now via Thirty Tigers.

Art Levy // producer, My KUTX


1. The Cars – “Drive”

2. Brandon Flowers – “Between Me And You”

3. David Ramirez – “Twins”

4. David Ramirez – “Watching From A Distance”

5. David Ramirez – “People Call Who They Wanna Talk To”

6. David Ramirez – “Time”

7. David Ramirez – “Good Heart”

8. David Ramirez – “Stone Age”

9. David Ramirez – “Telephone Lovers”

10. David Ramirez – “Villain”

11. David Ramirez – “Eliza Jane”

12. David Ramirez – “I’m Not Going Anywhere”

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today