My KUTX: Freddy Fletcher

Photo by Julia Reihs/KUTX

All weekend long, we’re celebrating Willie’s birthday with our third annual Willie Weekend, playing nothing but the Red Headed Stranger himself. And on My KUTX, Willie’s nephew Freddy Fletcher takes the guest DJ controls for an hour of his personal Willie favorites. Freddy’s mother is Bobbie, Willie’s beloved older sister and longtime piano player. He’s also the co-owner of Austin’s famed Arlyn Studios, which has recorded everyone from Andre 3000 and Lorde to Gary Clark Jr. and–you guessed it–Willie Nelson. Hear Freddy Fletcher’s My KUTX on Saturday, April 27 at 6 p.m. or listen anytime at the bottom of the page.

–Art Levy // producer, My KUTX

Playlist (all by Willie Nelson):

1. “Hello Walls”

2. “Blackjack County Chain”

3. “Pretend I Never Happened”

4. “I Never Cared For You”

5. “Yesterday’s Wine”

6. “Shotgun Willie”

7. “Angel Flying Too Close To The Ground”

8. “Till I Gain Control Again” (live, feat. Emmylou Harris)

9. “A Song For You”

10. “Seven Spanish Angels” (feat. Ray Charles)

11. “Getting Over You” (feat. Bonnie Raitt)

12. “Reasons To Quit” (feat. Merle Haggard)

13. “A Horse Called Music” (feat. Merle Haggard)

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today