My KUTX: Matthew Hanner of Aural Canyon

Amaya Austin/KUTX

Matthew Hanner of Aural Canyon

My KUTX // July 29, 2023

Since as long as he can remember, Austin’s Matthew Hanner has loved physical musical media. He’s a collector of vinyl, cassette tapes, even MiniDiscs. For a lot of collectors like him–myself included–there’s something more to physical media. Holding these items in your hand can enhance the music experience because you have a physical connection to the music. We’re meant to use more than just our swiping fingers.

In 2017, Hanner started Aural Canyon as a tape-focused label. You don’t do that to make money. You do that to build and connect with community, and Aural Canyon has carved out a caring niche all over the world. First focusing on ambient music, Hanner has slowly expanded the scope into all sorts of deep listening realms, including electronic, folk, and sound healing.

This week on My KUTX, Hanner picks an hour of his favorites, pulling from Aural Canyon’s extensive catalog and from songs that left a big, physical impact on him over the years. For Hanner, it’s about giving back to the thing that’s given him so much. Hear My KUTX on Saturday, July 29 at 6 p.m. or listen anytime here.


  1. Saapato – “Day Coming Back”
  2. Eddie Chacon – “Hurt” (Seahawks remix)
  3. Aphex Twin – “Untitled [SAW2 CD1 Track1]” (Four Tet remix)
  4. Galaxie 500 – “Ceremony”
  5. The American Analog Set – “New Drifters II”
  6. Holy Sons – “Things You Do While Waiting For The Apocalypse”
  7. Harmonia & Eno ’76 – “Almost”
  8. Jim O’Rourke – “Ghost Ship In A Storm”
  9. Jeffrey Alexander – “Tender Light”

Support KUTX’s ability to bring you closer to the music.

Donate Today